The AIA Hawaii Medal of Honor is awarded to an individual architect who has significantly advanced the profession of architecture and who, by his or her leadership, has proven an inspiration to fellow practitioners.

The past presidents of all the chapters of the American Institute of Architects (AIA) in Hawaii and the past presidents of the AIA Hawaii State Council make nominations for this honor. The final selection is made by the same group through a secret ballot, based on the nominations received.

In 2015, after a 12 year hiatus since the Medal of Honor had been awarded, the Hawaii Architectural Foundation (HAF) wanted to reinvigorate this important award recognizing our local architects. The Hawaii State Council and the Hawaii Architectural Foundation entered into a five year collaborative partnership, under which HAF would administer the awarding of this Medal for a period of up to five years, and the award would remain named under the Hawaii State Council. This partnership enables to strong organizations to come together and recognize the importance of architecture in Hawaii.


Learn more about the Design of the Medal

Medal of Honor Selection Process